La Cieca predicts you will be seeing more of the same old puritans at the Met next season, and she’s not just talking about the ones who slouch around during intermission hissing, “You call that a trill?” But uou will also see six new productions (including a Met premiere of a 21st century work) and the local debut of one of opera’s most controversial stage directors.

UPDATE: Further casting for Wozzeck; see below.

The following information—rumors, all of it, remember—is gleaned and compiled from, oh, all over the place. Some of the more familiar details derive from Brad Wilber‘s old Met Futures site, though obviously in the time since that wonderful resource was removed from the web a little over a year ago, casting and repertoire has evolved significantly and (all modesty aside) your doyenne has done a little sniffing of her own.

Besides the expected return of James Levine to the podium, the biggest news in 2013-2014 at the Met looks to be the New York premiere of Nico Muhly‘s

Boys and the company’s first performances since 1915 of Borodin’s Prince Igor—in a production by Dmitri Tcherniakov.

The bad news is that three productions have apparently been 86ed: Tannhäuser, Parsifal and Mahagonny.   Also canceled is a new production of I Puritani once planned for Natalie Dessay, who is, so far as can be told, not on the roster for this season. But the Bellini work will be performed in a revival of the familiar Sandro Sequi staging last seen in 2007.

Added to the bill on fairly short notice is a revival of Wozzeck, with three cast members of the defunct Parsifal rolling over.

And so, this is how next season looks likely to shape up at the Met. La Cieca welcomes the cher public’s educated guesses (or, even better, insider information) to fill in the TBA gaps, as well as general speculation. In your doyenne’s opinion, it’s quite an interesting season, even without any Wagner or Weill.

New Productions:

Eugene Onegin (Opening Night), conducted by Valery Gergiev, directed by Deborah Warner. With Anna Netrebko, Ekaterina Semenchuk, Piotr Beczala, Kwiecien, Ferruccio Furlanetto. Also performed later in the season with Marina Poplavskaya, Oksana Volkova, Peter Mattei, Alexei Tanovitski, conducted by Alexander Vedernikov.

Falstaff, conducted by Levine, directed by Des McAnuff. With Angela Meade, Lisette Oropesa, Stephanie Blythe, Ambrogio MaestriFranco Vassallo.

Die Fledermaus, conducted by Adam Fischer, directed by John Hall; new dialogue by David Hirson. With Susanna Phillips, Christine Schaefer, Anthony Roth Costanzo, Michael Fabiano, Paulo Szot.

Prince Igor, conducted by Gergiev, directed by Tcherniakov, choreography by Sergei Alexei Ratmansky. With Oksana Dyka, Semenchuk, Ildar Abdrazakov, Stefan Kocan, Vladimir Ognovenko.

Two Boys (Muhly/Craig Lucas), conducted by David Robertson, directed by Bartlett Sher. Ensemble cast includes Alice Coote, Felicity Palmer, Paul Appleby, Daniel Sumegi.

Werther, conducted by Alain Altinoglu, directed by Richard Eyre. With Oropesa, Elina Garanca, Jonas Kaufmann, David Bizic.


Andrea Chenier: Patricia Racette, Blythe, Marcelo Alvarez, Zeljko Lucic; Gianandrea Noseda.

Arabella: Genia Kuhmeier, Olga Peretyatko, Roberto Sacca, Michael Volle, John Del Carlo; Donald Runnicles. [Title role TBA.]

La Boheme: Maija Kovalevska/Anita Hartig, Joseph Calleja/Vittorio Grigolo, Alexey Markov/Luca Salsi, Massimo Cavalletti; Marco Armiliato/Philippe Auguin.

La Cenerentola: Joyce DiDonato, Juan Diego Florez, Luca Pisaroni, Alessandro Corbelli; Fabio Luisi.

Cosi fan tutte: Phillips, Isabel Leonard, Danielle de Niese, Matthew Polenzani, Rodion Pogossov, Maurizio Muraro; Levine.

L’elisir d’amore: Netrebko, Ramon Vargas.

The Enchanted Island: de Niese, Susan Graham, David Daniels, Placido Domingo, Pisaroni; Patrick Summers.

Die Frau ohne Schatten: Anne Schwanewilms, Christine Goerke, Ildiko Komlosi, Torsten Kerl, Johan Reuter, Richard Paul Fink; Vladimir Jurowski.

Madama Butterfly: Amanda Echalaz, James Valenti/Massimo Giordano, Scott Hendricks.

The Magic Flute (abridged) Jane Glover, conductor.

A Midsummer Night’s Dream: Kathleen Kim, Iestyn Davies; James Conlon.

Norma: Sondra Radvanovsky/Meade, Kate Aldrich, Aleksandrs Antonenko, James Morris; Riccardo Frizza.

The Nose: Szot, Ognovenko, Claudia Waite, Brian Frutiger, Grigory Soloviov.

I Puritani: Lawrence Brownlee, Kwiecien, Michele Pertusi; Michele Mariotti. [Elvira TBA.]

Rigoletto: Alexandra Kurzak, Polenzani, Dmitri Hvorostovsky, Kocan; Pablo Heras-Casado.

Der Rosenkavalier: Martina Serafin, Mojca Erdmann, Garanca/Daniela Sindram, Eric Cutler, Hans-Joachim Ketelsen, Peter Rose; Edward Gardner.

Rusalka: Renée Fleming, Emily Magee, Dolora Zajick, Beczala, John Relyea; Yannick Nezet-Seguin.

La Sonnambula: Diana Damrau, Javier Camarena, Michele Pertusi; Armiliato.

Tosca: Racette/Radvanovsky, Roberto Alagna/Marcello Giordani, George Gagnidze.

Wozzeck: Deborah Voigt, Simon O’Neill, Thomas Hampson; Levine.