Congratulations to our two winners of the Rosenkavalier essay contest.  The lovely rysanekfreak came in first in the “Ja, Ja” division, while Tristram Minstrel was judged the most astute of the many “Nein, Nein” sayers.

Our rysanekfreak will be sent the new Decca DVD of the opera starring La Fleming, Sophie Koch, Diana Damrau, Franz Hawlata and Jonas Kaufmann under the prodigious baton of Christian Thielemann. (Please, rysanekfreak, email La Cieca for further instructions on how to be sent this prize.)

And a copy of the Sony CD release of the classic Leonard Bernstein version, with Christa Ludwig, Gwyneth Jones, Lucia Popp, Walter Berry and Placido Domingo, will soon be on its way to Tristram.